Allie O

In 2012, I walked through the gym doors and saw Coach Kyle standing there with a big, fat grin and an out-stretched hand to welcome me. I was, of course, promptly annihilated by the work-out, but knew that I had stumbled across a really special coach and community. Before that day, I had never touched a barbell, I had no idea what a power clean was, and I had very poor results with weight loss; however, with the coaches at CrossFit City Limits's endless patience, focus on proper form and mobility, and knowledge of good nutrition, I have been able to make huge gains in the gym and losses in the kitchen. The coaches and community have been a constant source of encouragement for me over the years. They take a personal interest in what you are doing inside and outside of the gym, and have on more than one occasion reached out to me if have noticed something may be off with my performance due to outside the gym factors. They remember my personal records better than I do, encourages me to recognize how far I have come if I’m ever having a down day, and are always the first ones to laugh when I make a lame joke. Bottom line? CrossFit City Limits Rocks! But seriously, my fitness would not be where it is today without their influence. I am stronger and more confident, and the best part is that I continue to make progress. I can’t thank the owners, Blake and Kyle, the other coaches, and the gym community enough for the endless positive life changes they have helped me make in the last 4 years. When you surround yourself with encouraging people, the positive impact on your life is immeasurable. Thank you CrossFit City Limits!

Stan P

In early 2013 I was diagnosed with adhesive capsulitis, also known as a frozen shoulder. After several doctors, multiple x-rays, MRI’s, cortisone shots, and thousands of dollars worth of physical therapy (even Airrosti and ShortWave therapy!), I had finally given up on ever having full use of my shoulder again. I had been told that eventually it may get better, but after a year and a half of waiting for it to get better, I still had very limited range of motion in my shoulder. Towards the end of 2015 the pain in my shoulder had started to get better. In an effort to regain some strength I started looking for a gym or trainer. Really I didn’t know what I was looking for. I wanted someone that could help me rebuild the lost strength under conditions that would decrease my likelihood of re-injuring my shoulder. At the time, I had never tried CrossFit, however I had heard about some of the incredible results my friends have been able to achieve. My wife and I looked at several gyms, big commercial gyms, CrossFit gyms, boxing gyms, and even gymnastic strength training gyms all over Austin. Some of them wanted to help, but were the “take a number” type of gym, while others just didn’t give you the time of day. When we got the opportunity to meet the coaches at CrossFit City Limits, right away I was impressed by the help, consideration, and knowledge about the injury and his eagerness to want to help achieve my goals.  Because of my injury, most gyms didn’t want to touch me. The first few sessions proved to me quickly that they truly cared about everyone’s overall success and this included staying injury free.  As I write this, I have seen my shoulder mobility and strength continue to get better and better. I’m stronger, I feel better, and have a more positive outlook that my shoulder will NOT be a handicap in anything I choose to do. I never would have thought that I would be able to do a handstand, press weight over my head, or hold a barbell in a front rack position. I owe it to CrossFit City Limits for this and I will always be grateful for his help!

Mary T

When I picked up my first barbell, I almost fell over. A high-intensity exercise program held no allure except that my sister suggested we try it. Braver with her at my side, we tried it together. I returned home after surviving that first day to find that I had to climb our stairs one at a time. At age 60, my friends and I have started the phase of life where we talk about knee replacements, cholesterol levels and Social Security benefits. Did I really want to start a program with a warm-up called “Death by Burpees?” The coaches at CrossFit City Limits have taught me that I’m much tougher than I ever imagined. In almost every work-out there’s a point that you have to make a decision to push past discomfort, exhaustion and a voice in your head screaming for you to stop. Rising to this mental challenge gives me a sense of satisfaction no other form of exercise has ever provided. Now, when I hold a barbell over my head, I don’t feel 60. I feel strong

Kelly L

I grew up in the seventies doing competitive gymnastics, track and field, and cheer-leading. I played on an office softball team beyond high school and took up golf. I taught gymnastics and swimming to three-to-five-year-olds then later became an aerobics instructor. I clearly have led an active lifestyle. After raising three kids, I did some jogging here and there, but never got back into a real workout routine. I had chronic arm pain preventing me from lifting anything over my head or even carry a load of laundry up and down the stairs. Cortisone shots did not help and 25 physical therapy visits gave me little relief. I decided at age 55, I was just getting old and that was how my life was going be. Then my son, Kyle, convinced me to try CrossFit. This is where you can start seeing the bias of my testimonial, but my son or not, my life has changed!  And, as much as I want to give my son Kyle all the credit, the community and coaches at CrossFit City Limits that surround me every time I walk into the gym is a big part of keeping me motivated and keeping the experience tons of fun.

The coaches at CrossFit City Limits taught me how to deadlift with a PVC pipe and light weight at first, then gradually got me to lift more and more weight.  Early on when they showed me something new, my stock answer to Kyle was to laugh, shake my head and say, “I can’t do that!” Their stock answer to me was, “Yes you can.” We worked on my arm and worked on changing the way I moved which was causing the pain in the first place.  With their guidance, encouragement, persistence, and a lot of patience, I have actually learned and am confident with the weight lifting movements typically used in CrossFit workouts.  Over the last four years, I have consistently improved my personal records (PRs) over and over again. I have stayed motivated to improve my times, weights, number of reps and speed because I am constantly seeing results.  Along with keeping a watchful eye on my technique and giving me quick cues to work on with a variety of moves such as double unders, kipping pullups, and handstand pushups, the coaches have also taught me the importance of prioritizing quality of movement during work-outs and mobility exercises before and after workouts. But they don't stop there. They have given me a wealth of nutritional information which has added to my health and more PRs. My favorite results? My arms are no longer in pain. I am in better shape now than I was in high school and will always be thankful to CrossFit City Limits for teaching me, “Yes I can.”

Gary S

CrossFit City Limits,

This is a short note to personally say thank you and let you know how much I appreciate the time you have spent with me over the years as my CrossFit trainers.

As you may recall, I came to your box in September 2012 at the urging of my son Steve. At that time I was 59 years old, had given up playing basketball to stay in shape (because I was hurting myself and others) a few years earlier and besides the one workout, about a month earlier, with Steve in his VA box I had no exposure to the CrossFit type of workout. You also may recall a 400m run totally winded me, I had no real experience with weightlifting and my original box jump was 3 inches. I’m sure you were very excited to see this old, out of shape dude roll in!

Well, I’m 62 years old now and your coaching has allowed me to stay at it. I am amazed that, at my age, I keep making progress.  I couldn’t have even gotten started without your welcoming attitude, positive reinforcement, constructive criticism, and your outstanding teaching skills. I can now do a ton of 24 inch box jumps in a work-out, I am squatting 255lbs, can actually consider a 400m run a warm-up, and feel incredibly healthy. You have taken your responsibility as my coaches very seriously while at the same time making sure things stay light during training sessions so it remains enjoyable for all.

I appreciate the gym welcoming the old dude in and making me feel a part of the community.

Sincerely,

Gary S

Jennifer B

I never viewed myself as a super fit person, but I thought by running a few miles, 4 or 5 times a week, I would be able to keep up some sort of “healthy lifestyle.”  It was not until I put myself under the “wedding ready” spotlight that I realized running was getting me nowhere near the healthy and fit life I wanted.  A few close friends kept telling me that CrossFit was something I would love, which I thought was silly because of what I thought it was. I had no idea what participating in CrossFit would do for my life!  

July 23, 2014, I stepped foot into CrossFit City Limits, terrified to try my first CrossFit class.  The coaches were so welcoming and encouraging to every new beginner in the class.  They put a high priority on learning the foundations of how human bodies were meant to move and that was the start of a new beginning for me. Going to CrossFit City Limits became a part of my day.  It provided my life stress relief and community while my husband was deployed with the Marines and while work grew increasingly more stressful. It became my third place, where I could go and forget the worries of the world. The coaches not only helped me improve every lift higher than I ever imagined, but most importantly, they taught me to believe in myself. I quickly learned CrossFit is not just about strength and endurance, but about courage and a positive mindset which carries over to every aspect of life.  The coaches worked patiently with me each day and boosted my confidence to a point where I can now squat over 200lbs and throw 140lbs over my head!  I can do a handstand push up and attempt things without allowing the fear of failing to paralyze me.

I am appreciative day in and out that I braved the world at CrossFit City Limits and was lucky enough to stumble upon those amazing coach. I am a whole new person with a whole new fitness level and a new outlook on health and fitness.

Morgan B

I grew up an athlete, played volleyball competitively, rowed on the University of Texas Women’s Rowing Team, competed in fitness competitions, etc. As I grew older, my competitive nature never diminished! I have watched several of the Reebok CrossFit games and knew CrossFit was something I needed to get involved in. I watched YouTube videos of CrossFit that were completely terrifying, yet I believed I could do it. I jumped into the CrossFit world in June of 2015. As soon as walked through the gym doors at CrossFit City Limits, I stepped into an entirely new world of fitness and wasn’t completely comfortable with being an amateur at something.

Kyle was the first person who welcomed me and made me feel immediately at ease. He walked me through my first workout, discussed form for each movement, and how to improve my body and movement through mobility work. I have always hated stretching and yoga, but Kyle introduced a style of mobility to me and showed me the importance of loosening up tight muscles in order to achieve better form, strength and improve performance. Through this mobility work, it supercharged my work-outs. I have worked out in gyms all my life, but I personally feel as though I’m stronger and better after only being at CrossFit City Limits for less than a year.

The comradery within the CrossFit City Limits community is something I haven’t experienced in a long time. I was nervous that the people who had been doing CrossFit for some time wouldn’t accept me and I’d feel like an outcast. WRONG! These people all have a similar goal…they want to be healthy and accept that there are things they need to work on. Sure, some are more competitive, some are just looking to lose a few pounds, but in general, we are all there for the same reason and are willing to work hard to achieve what we want out of life. We cheer for each other, motivate each other and celebrate for one another as personal goals or personal records are reached.

I have CrossFit City Limits to thank for spending the time with me both in group settings as well as personal sessions. The coaches are exceptional at breaking down movements so I could better understand how to perform the skill before taking the movement head on. They identified a limited range of motion in my ankles and hips and thanks to them…I’m hooked and performing better than ever!

Carmen G

I am a former collegiate volleyball and basketball athlete who was used to working out and training with a purpose.  At 33, I found that I was no longer getting the most out of my workouts. I wanted to incorporate weight lifting, cardio and other strength exercise into my routine, but wasn’t sure how to do it on my own. In college, I used to have an entire team of trainers and athletes to work out with.  I was becoming less and less motivated and knew I needed a change. My journey with CrossFit City Limits began in December 2013. Outside of needing a workout change, I also had an initial goal to prepare for a destination wedding and look good in my swimsuit! CrossFit City Limits has thoughtful coaches who took seriously my personal goals.  They have shown me how to scale movements to my abilities, but still challenge myself and get better. I have been with them long enough to now see that they were not simply making movements easier for me, they were building my foundation and progressing me through different movements to where now I am doing all of the complicated movements used in CrossFit.  They have a keen sense of how to explain lifts and break down movements to a level that allows me to understand and mimic. They seriously takes into consideration utilizing the safest and most appropriate form, saving me from injury and allowing me to get into positions to be a serious athlete again. Their coaching style displays patience, motivation in my individual ability, and sincere encouragement to be an all-around better athlete. The gym and community have pushed me to learn how to fail without being a failure allowing me to now have done things I didn’t think were possible.

It didn’t take long before I knew I would stick with it, even beyond the wedding, to continue meeting my overall fitness goals. Now 3 ½ years in, I’m comfortable doing Olympic-style weightlifting, like a squat snatch and clean and jerk, and am again confident in my physical abilities to allow me to take on anything the real world throws at me. I have even mastered a muscle up!  My husband, also a former college basketball athlete, had seen my progress over the years and has now joined me in this journey. We are two very different body styles, but the coaches are able to highlight our strengths and focus the gym's training for us in ways that benefit our individuality and different styles of working out. Everything we learn from the coaches we carry over and apply to our lives outside of the gym.

CrossFit City Limits has made working out fun again and has created a community that surrounds us that keeps us going. It is a positive environment that continues to motivate me to do more. The devotion of the CrossFit City Limits team and those I work out with is infectious!

Stephanie S

Until this trip, I had no idea how strong I was getting. I can’t wait to get back there! I just returned from Argentina, where I hiked 30 miles in the Andes. I really have to thank CrossFit City Limits for giving me the endurance and strength to complete it–it wasn’t easy. I came to the conclusion on that hike that I really want to be fit enough to continue active traveling well into the future (I guess this would be my training purpose). While I have typically hated the Olympic weightlifting part of CrossFit, since hauling a loaded backpack for days, I have a new appreciation for how important muscle strength is and have renewed my goal to be able to do a pull up in 2016–strict or kipped!

Kyle G

CrossFit City Limits has changed the way I view fitness.  They have helped me get into the best shape of my life and continue to make improvements. I have been in sports my whole life, as an amateur and professional, exposing me to many different fitness theories and environments. This life has also exposed me to many pesky injuries and surgeries on each hip along with the rehabilitation programs that came with them.  The coaches at CrossFit City Limits have provided me with better results and knowledge than all of those experiences combined. Focus on diagnosing weaknesses and addressing the causes has helped me gain better range of motion in all areas enabling me to perform exercises correctly, safely, and efficiently, and thus, gain the functional strength and health at a level I had previously never been able to achieve, all while staying injury free.  Since I started training at CrossFit City Limits, I have forgotten about my two hip surgeries, just over a year ago, and have never felt as physically fit.  I just wish I would’ve trained with them 6 years ago when I was at the collegiate level and I know I would be in a much better position in my professional career.  They have fun and do things right! Listen and learn because everything they say makes sense and produces results! I just ran a half-marathon in 1:38:51 with no training for it outside of the work-outs I did at CrossFit City Limits.  I made a last minute decision to race in it and wasn’t even signed-up to race until 1:00 AM the morning of the race.  Substituting the gym's work-outs for the traditional training methodology of logging a ton of running hours each week helped avoid the all the injuries caused by that much stress on the body that I heard many runners at the event complain about prior to the race even starting.  I avoided these nagging injuries and also achieve a better time than many of the traditionally trained runners.  I finished in the top 10 percent of all male runners using CrossFit City Limits programming…This gym is legit!

Nicki H

I had spent a lot of years working out and exercising (with widely varying degrees of success) not because I particularly enjoyed it or found exercise fulfilling, but because I knew it was good for me and I was supposed to do it. It is kind of like going to the doctor for a shot. Yes, you know you’ve got to do it to be healthy and it’s all for the best, but no one actually likes shots, right? That was my general attitude toward fitness for a long time as I viewed exercise as a chore. My dismal attitude was because I didn’t know how to exercise properly or what types of workouts to do in order to achieve results, which meant that I usually wound up frustrated and not achieving much of anything. I figured that I should just do what all the other girls in the gym did — join the rows of women on elliptical machines while watching whatever muted cable news show was on the gym TVs, thinking about Cosmopolitan Magazine’s latest advice on how to lose ten pounds in two weeks, and probably all wishing we were somewhere else. Come to think of it now, it’s no wonder I felt like that was a chore! When I walked into my first session at CrossFit City Limits about four years ago, I was so nervous and felt completely out of place. I had never touched a barbell, I didn’t know what most of the equipment in the gym was even called, and I lacked the confidence to think I could even finish a CrossFit workout. I’ve gone from that point four years ago to surprising myself with my achievements now. And while confidence is still sometimes a weak spot for me that I work on fixing, a huge part of my transformation in terms of physical and mental strength over the past three years has been the coaches at CrossFit City Limits. Their expertise, contagious enthusiasm, and encouragement have been major components of my success every step of the way.

No one in the gym wants to see you succeed and overcome your obstacles more than the coaches, and they have passionately supported my goals and helped to smash my hurdles in a way that makes his desire and excitement for others’ achievement obvious. And when the going gets tough and I hit a wall in terms of diet, programming, lifting form, an everything else in between, they been great go-to experts for knowing what I can improve so that I can cross that barrier and can move on to my next challenge. When I think of all the gyms, coaches, and personal trainers I have trained with and all my choices for where to work out, I feel so lucky to have walked in full of nerves that first day to CrossFit City Limits. This gym is a huge part of why my CrossFit and fitness experience has been so fun and rewarding.

Four years ago, if someone had told me that I would have the ability to back squat 225 lbs, lift more than 100 lbs over my head, and even know what the heck a box jump was, I would have thought they were nuts. But now that I know better, I say, “Yeah, I can do that! And more than that! And there’s a lot of more awesome stuff that I’m going to do, too!” I surprise myself with my accomplishments in the gym and am glad I now possess those skills because I have seen how useful they are outside the gym in my everyday life. But I also know I can do more, continue to improve, be faster, and stronger. The confidence and fulfillment I get from knowing my ability and strength comes from the foundation that the coaches have helped to build in teaching me how to work out and how to chip away at my goals until I’ve achieved them.  Exercise is now fun!

Bri K

I do not think of myself as a very athletic person, but I somehow I have learned to enjoy exercising. I had joined gyms before, worked with personal trainers, etc. but nothing ever stuck. I have been doing CrossFit since 2012 now and big part of that are the coaches and community at CrossFit City Limits. I did not know anything about lifting weights, box jumps, or anything else the coaches were going to have me do. They taught me as a beginner and not only did I learn a lot, but I had a lot of fun! They were very patient demonstrating all the movements and letting me take my time to learn the proper form and technique. They are great about watching you do a movement and helping you understand how you can improve and make tweaks for better performance. When it was time to increase the intensity and weight, it was with confidence. The coaches have always been so encouraging and genuinely interested in making me a stronger, fitter person in a way that fit my goals. The gym goes so far beyond simply being a place where I work-out. I have made a lot of friends through a gym I can call my own and truly enjoy the atmosphere. It’s the main reason why I am still having so much success doing CrossFit today. It’s nice walking into my gym and hearing a coach yell “Bri!” Working out in a community where you know everyone and the coaches really care is so important. CrossFit City Limits is a great gym and cultivates an amazing community which will help anyone reach their goals!

Sam W

Where do I even begin…I remember walking into the gym for the first time and thinking “What the H-E double hockey sticks am I doing here?” I was never the type of person who enjoyed lifting weights…that is until I started classes at CrossFit City Limits. The coaches are all what you hope for in a coach. They are always there to help and constantly make you feel as if you are receiving one-on-one personal training sessions even if there are a lot of others working out in the class as well. I’ve been working out at CrossFit City Limits for over 3 years now and I am stronger, healthier, and in the best shape I have ever been in my life. The coaches and community are a big part of that. Not only have they taught me how to properly do all the movements, they also make working out fun and enjoyable for everyone around. I love the community and I love the results!

Chris Z

Since I was 13 years old, I played sports and spent an enormous amount of time in gyms and weight rooms. I used what I learned in school playing sports and from school coaches to design my workouts.  My focus has always been on losing weight and gaining strength. I had never considered joining CrossFit or getting a coach because I felt I already knew what to do.  It wasn’t until I notice my workouts weren’t getting me anywhere that I considered trying CrossFit.

After starting CrossFit and meeting the coaches at CrossFit City Limits, I can now admit that I honestly had no idea what I was doing for all those years working out. They feel like a waste of time and, like most people, I wish I could go back with everything I know now.  The coaches were able to break down the basics and enhance not only my workouts and overall fitness, but my everyday movements. Little nagging pains have gone away as I am just moving better all around. Because of them, my workout IQ has expanded dramatically. I now work to improve my life through this better understanding of strength training, mobility, body positioning, flexibility and many other areas. From this knowledge I have been able to reach a new level of fitness that I’ve never been before and I’m excited to keep growing.

I didn’t want to mention this, but they wanted me to brag a little bit about myself.  At the time of this article, I am now running a 5:30 mile and back squatting over 400lbs.

Ashley S

At the beginning of 2014, I was a pack-a-day smoker with no real fitness plan. The holidays had just ended and I was carrying around an extra ten lbs from overindulging on booze and sweets during the holiday season. Six months before I had dropped in to CrossFit City Limits for a 10 minute work-out that left me sore for weeks and afraid of changing my ways. But this was the time, and I knew where to go to start. I built up the courage and decided to begin my trek to fitness in February 2014. The coaches treated me with patience and encouragement. I remember using a PVC pipe in the beginning while watching the other CrossFitters with barbells loaded up with heavy weights and wondering if I would ever be able to do the same. Starting the journey was hard, but I persisted.

The coaches' senses of humor, genuine interest in seeing me improve, and their positive outlook helped keep me coming back.  If I was having a rough day, I knew that if I just walked in the door that everything would be alright. After I gained experience and started seeing his methods provide results, I learned how valuable their training advice was and became more focused on soaking up all of their knowledge.

If you listen to the coaches at CrossFit City Limits, you will get better. I can now do pull-ups, I actually love lifting a barbell, and several times, I had the confidence and chance to represent our gym in inter-gym competitions.  I am no longer the beginner in awe of the others, I am one of the others.

I’ve moved cities and relocated at a new gym now. The coach there has given me lots of positive feedback on my form. I give all the credit to CrossFit City Limits and thier attention to detail in my first days. As I perform each lift, I go through the mental checklist that they helped me build. If you buy-in to their methods, even when you don’t believe them, and hold yourself to their higher standard during workouts, you will see yourself make great strides.

Brandon W

I consider exercise and fitness more than just a hobby.  It’s a commitment I made with myself in my early 20s and one of the few I have kept.  I have been exercising now for over 11 years and my frequency has remained fairly consistent, 3-5 times a week sometimes twice a day.  Injuries, increased workloads, and illnesses have all kept me out of the gym, sometimes at great lengths, but I always motivated myself to bounce back. I started working out seriously in college with strength training and then began incorporating cardiovascular activities in preparation for military service.  Throughout my military career and as I started to build endurance I conditioned myself with many different forms of exercise, which evolved into functional fitness and high intensity interval training or, more specifically, CrossFit.  I certainly enjoy strength training as it was my fitness foundation, so when I discovered CrossFit it was like I hit the exercise jackpot.  I could build strength and muscle tone while improving my cardiovascular endurance. It was the best of all worlds, but most importantly, it was fitness I could actually use.

Not only has regular exercise been a way to stay physically healthy, but I also attribute it to maintaining my mental health as well.  It has kept my mind sharp, focused and robust enough to handle extreme life stressors.  The hardest part about getting into shape was starting, but after the first 2-3 months it became routine.  Now working out is not a chore as I simply cannot imagine my life without being fit.  I enjoy participating in occasional athletic events and the training up that is involved.  CrossFit has helped me do everything better, from maintaining a “fighting shape” to horseplay with my family.  It keeps me resilient to injury and is the most cost effective preventative maintenance for my physical and mental health.  I always joke with my family that if I knew the exact time I was going to die I would surely plan a workout for that day.

I’ve been working out at CrossFit City Limits for almost a year now and can attest to their remarkable ability as a functional fitness coaches. As  coaches of CrossFit, they are both professional and knowledgeable in conducting H.I.I.T. (High Intensity Interval Training) and teaching the proper techniques associated with Olympic lifting and other barbell movements, kipping and other gymnastics movements, and everything in between. They also have an array of knowledge that transcends the gym floor with additional experiences in nutrition, mobility, and how to live a fit life.  The coaching staff is an example to their clients by embodying what a healthy lifestyle is all about. Their passion and enthusiasm for fitness is what motivates me to keep coming back. It’s refreshing to see personal trainers that get fully invested in your fitness experience to include achieving your specific goal set while delighting in your voyage to meet them. The small groups allows them to take the time to focus on your specific movements which improves your technique while ensuring your safety. They have a friendly and professional personality, not pushy or salesmen-like. Whether you are new to functional fitness and HIIT exercise or just looking for something different from your normal routine you can trust in the services at CrossFit City Limits.

-Brandon

Ashley B

When I decided to take the leap into something new, CrossFit, I had the pleasure of finding CrossFit City Limits. I have always been active, but was looking for a new challenge. There are a lot of negative perceptions linked with CrossFit goers-such as “You get injured more,” “it’s like a cult” and overall it has that “meathead/self absorbed” association. However, CrossFit City Limits is not like these other “boxes.” These coaches have a natural talent for being patient with others and coaching. They explain movements step by step, in a non-threatening way, but also because they genuinely care about you achieving your goals (and having proper form). There are some complicated lifts utilized in CrossFit, and for a complete lift to be the most efficient, it takes quite a bit of practice. I remember a specific time when I was learning how to overhead snatch. Coach Kyle stayed with me late showing me video analysis of my bar path to show me where I could improve. He was encouraging and positive and stayed with me until I was satisfied and understood how to correct the movement. It made a big impact on me and my training.

Any time I was learning a new complicated movement, the coaches were always good about reiterating a skill to accomplish associated with that movement so when incorporated it would be done correctly. They are a stickler for form and that’s a good thing for a coach! Often times I see many coaches give up on athletes because they are tired of sounding like a broken record. These coaches have a hundred different ways to get the point across. After three years of CrossFit, I never once injured myself, either! If there was ever an odd pain or a soreness, they always had a suggestion for mobility or stretching that fixed the issue. The main reason I have stayed with CrossFit City Limits was not just the challenging workouts, but the positive and happy demeanor of the community is infectious. Everyone was always easy to chat with about non-gym related topics, laughs quite a bit, is open-minded and because of that, it kept so many people coming back into the gym. Many of my close friends are those I met at the gym, I am so glad to have walked into CrossFit City Limits.

Ashley B

Jessica S

I used to be that girl who would “workout” consistently for a few months with long distance jogging as my main objective, then throw in some crunches and push-ups every once in a while.  After miles and miles of fairly painless work, I would get fed up after not feeling different or seeing any changes with my body.  Yeah, I could comfortably jog for hours, but the results were not reflecting the time I put in.  I would then fall hard off that wagon while my frustrations turned into eating horribly and not doing any type of workout at all.  After a few more months of being miserable, cycle repeat… Then CrossFit City Limits came into my life.  They coaches introduced me to their powerful workout program that has affected every aspect of the way I live.  It has taught me to actually push myself to my limits instead of going through the motions, and it has instilled a mentality and approach to working out that has netted results I never thought possible.  It is the greatest fitness lifestyle I have ever been exposed to.

In all seriousness, I was a little skeptical during my first workout.  The coach started me off with a warm-up. I used to call this warm-up a complete workout in my past days….I was way off.  We then moved on to focusing on a specific functional movement. This was more of a lesson on how technique and efficiency go hand-in-hand.  Then it was time for the work-out; the high intensity, fast moving, working yourself as hard as you possibly can work-out.  The excitement and intensity of the work-out is indescribable (you must try). After less than 10 minutes of this, it was over and time for a cool down.  This was crazy to me.  I thought it took hours and hours to complete a workout.  It took me absolutely no time to get used to this kind of fitness.  The very first workout I completed on November 7, 2011 was an 8 minute AMRAP (As Many Rounds As Possible) of 10 box jumps, 8 x 12lb wallball shots, and 6 banded push-ups.  I got through 4 rounds and 2 wall-ball shots. On January 24, 2012, I completed this same workout in 6 rounds and 3 wall-ball shots.  Another accomplishment of mine that I give all the credit to CrossFit City Limits is improving my half marathon time by 20 minutes with their customized training.  To see these kinds of improvements is such a great feeling.  Every workout is something different, effective and fun.  I know “fun” is a weird word to say in the same sentence as workout, but somehow they do it!

Thanks to CrossFit City Limits, working out has rejuvenated my life in the fitness aspect as well as outside of fitness. I am super excited to keep progressing in my fitness journey!!!

Manny G

As a former collegiate athlete, I never thought I could match the level of fitness I had at my peak during my early 20s. After years of grad school, full-time work, and having a family, I fell victim to doing the same workout routine for years and had no positive results to show. One day while running halfheartedly on a treadmill, I decided I had enough and wanted to try something different. That’s when I met the coaches at CrossFit City Limits who introduced me to the functional fitness cross training. Over the past 5+ year, they have provided me with coaching that has not only helped me surpass my previous best fitness levels, they more importantly made working out fun again. Thanks to them, I am at a fitness level that allows me to live pain free, happy, and healthy as I keep up with my 2 kids.